Includes thousands of works from some of the greatest legal minds in history including Joseph Story, Jeremy Bentham, William Blackstone, William Holdsworth, Henry Maine, Federick William Maitland, Frederick Pollock, Benjamin E. Cardozo, and many more! In addition to many classic treatises, this collection also includes rare items that are found in only a handful of libraries around the world.
A vast and rapidly-expanding online library, providing easy access to thousands of books across the world-renowned scholarly list of Oxford University Press (OUP). Spanning subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law
The 2016 Health Law and Compliance Update, now in its 12th year, continues a publishing tradition that features national experts who address key developments in health care delivery, payment, and compliance. The authors include practical advice and analytical tools for use in organizational compliance programs, in addition to timely and thorough analysis of many substantive topics. The 2016 Edition includes detailed coverage and expert insights on the following topics: Accountable Care Organizations: Past, Present, and Future Maximizing Employee Engagement and Lean Six Sigma Initiatives to Promote Compliance Provider-Payer Convergence: Present Landscape and Future Trends Physician Compliance in the Brave New World of Increased Enforcement Health Care Antitrust Developments The Big Data Puzzle: Putting Together the Pieces for an Effective Compliance Strategy The FDAand’s Approach to Additive Manufacturing: 3D Printing of Educational Items, Medical Devices, and Bio-Printingand—Technical and Regulatory Considerations United Healthcare v. Sanctuary Surgical Center et al.: A Look at State Law Claims and ERISA Preemption
The fight against fraud and abuse in healthcare programs, and the pharmaceutical and medical devices industry in particular, continues to grow. Since 1996 the federal government has strengthened its efforts to detect and prevent fraud and abuse in healthcare, and has recovered $18 billion since 1997. These enforcement activities make a compliance program essential to protecting a company from running afoul of the myriad laws and regulations that have been enacted to combat fraud and waste. Pharmaceutical and Medical Device Compliance Manual includes guidance to help companies do that.
• In-depth coverage of the federal and state enforcement agencies
• Federal Anti-Kickback Statute and False Claims Act details
• Distinction between manufacturers' lawful dissemination of scientific information and unlawful promotion of off-label use
• Discussion of the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act and its extra-territorial reach
• Coverage and reimbursement of prescription drugs and medical devices
• Prescription drug price regulations
The Manual includes guidance on building an effective compliance program and will be a great tool for health and life sciences attorneys, compliance officers, and others in the pharmaceutical and medical devices industry.