Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Relevant Statutes
42 U.S.C. §§ 12101-12213. This directs you to the federal government website under the U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division. The description of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 and Revised ADA Regulations Implementing Title II and Title III is included. The text of ADA is available on this website.
Emergency Medical Treatment and Active Labor Act, 42 U.S.C.§ 1395dd.
FMLA regulations 29 C.F.R. pt. 825. FMLA entitles eligible employees of covered employers to take unpaid, job-protected leave for specified family and medical reasons.
21 U.S.C. §§ 301-399h. For more information, see the FDA website
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996, Pub. L. No. 104-191.
42 U.S.C. §§ 1396-1396w-5. Federal Medicaid website is here
. NJ Medicaid website is here
Pub. L. No. 114-10. Federal Medicare website is here
42 U.S.C. 300aa-10 et seq.
Recent Public Health Statutory and Policy Developments
Health Policy Tracking Service - Legislation to Watch
HPTS - Legislation to Watch contains information on the latest state legislation relating to:
- Access to Health Insurance
- Health care providers and facilities
- Health insurance oversight
- Long term care
- Mental illness and addiction
- Public health
Legislation to Watch provides a convenient way to stay on top of the latest health-related legislation. It includes information on bills that have been identified and reviewed by HPTS analysts, bill summaries, histories, full text, and more. Coverage begins in July 2005.
A 50-State Survey is, at minimum, a listing of the laws on a particular topic in all states. Some surveys are only a list of the different state code sections, while others can contain detailed information on the content of the law, sometimes organized into charts that allow you to compare the laws of different states easily.
Subject Compilation of State Laws
Via HeinOnline. Indexes and links to materials that contain a survey of the laws of various states on a particular topic
National Conference of State Legislatures
The Issues and Research section contains many surveys of state laws; how much information about each law is given varies widely. The NCSL website also contains a bill tracking information and reports for a number of areas.
50 State Surveys (via Lexis Advance)
A small, but growing collection of surveys of state laws and regulations.
50 State Surveys (via Westlaw)
A larger collection than that in LexisNexis, but still limited compared the information available from Subject Compilations of State Laws.