West Academic Study Aids provide online access to many study supplements, including West’s Concise Hornbook Series, the Law Stories Series, and all of the Nutshells. Audio lectures are also available via Sum and Substance and Law School Legends. To access go to the Law Library's E-Databases page and browse to West Academic.
Access full text e-books of popular study aids for many of your courses!
Provides substantive outlines of core concepts and summary outlines for FIrst Year courses. It also includes diagnostic true/false questions, multiple choice questions, and essay questions, which help students understand black letter law.
Blog "on the law school experience and how law students can succeed in law school and beyond. Also, career and trial tips for the young lawyer... input from practicing attorneys, law students, those in academia, and all who are connected with the law school community."
This is a powerful, accessible and practical book that breaks law school learning strategies into understandable, logical and practical steps that maximize the effect of students’ study efforts, and explicitly ties those learning strategies to the strategies practicing lawyers use to understand, analyze and apply legal concepts in the real- life representation of their clients. Students who employ its methods not only improve their law school performances and increase their chances of passing the bar on their first try, but they also come to understand the practical implica- tions of their hard work for the transition into the real world of practice, where clients entrust to lawyers the protection of their rights, their property, liberties, sometimes even their lives.
Law school professors, career service professionals and attorneys answer student questions such as how can I foster constructive relationships with my professors, should I join a study group, and is it true that I must pick a practice specialty during my first year.
Explains why law school is taught in a certain way. Sets out a process to help students adapt to the law school setting. Includes exercises in various subjects to give students practice in the problem-solving process.
Critical Reading for Success in Law School and Beyond presents critical reading strategies in a systematic sequence so that students can become effective readers who are successful in both law school and in law practice. This reading system was developed by identifying the characteristics of expert readers at different stages of the reading process and then creating a curriculum to teach these skills. It contains essential ingredients for developing skills in reading comprehension as well as legal analysis, case evaluation, and case synthesis. Critical Reading starts with chapters on reading as an advocate and with focus and then introduces students to case structure as well as civil and criminal procedure. Students are then introduced to specific comprehension techniques such as case context, reading for an overview, reading facts, and strategies for understanding unclear text. Critical Reading then addresses strategies for making inferences, evaluating cases, and synthesizing cases. Critical Reading for Success in Law School and Beyond focuses on comprehension of full reported cases as students must be able to read full decisions in practice. It is designed to be used in law school pre-orientation and orientation programs, academic success courses, legal writing and doctrinal classes, as well as individual student support.
Strategies for learning to cope with the Socratic method in the classroom and beyond. "Anyone can become competent, even brilliant, at verbal persuasion. The purpose of this book is to help you figure out how."
Offers a global overview of the first-year curriculum in a single volume. In short, available lessons, Get a Running Start covers all the major concepts taught in each of the courses most commonly offered in the first year of law school: criminal law, torts, civil procedure, constitutional law, property, and contracts. Each of the courses comprising this book is written by a specialist in the field who is a decorated teacher with years of experience in the classroom. In this volume, they have distilled that experience and expertise to produce the tool they wish they had when they first were thinking about and then actually began law school: a clear, concise introduction to the entire first-year curriculum.
Law school exams involve complicated legal reasoning. This book breaks down the exam process into discrete analytical components and helps you address complexity by developing relevant study habits and skills.
Introduces students to a wide range of modern legal issues. Written in a clear and engaging style, the book expertly addresses the ways in which the rules and structures of law respond to and influence changes in economic and political life. It provides a clear understanding of the relationship between law and society, with particular emphasis on the importance of morality, dispute solution and business regulation.
Gives a behind-the-scenes look at what law school is really like. The book condenses ten years of student and professor advice on how to make the most out of one's law school experience. The advice covers all aspects of law school, and ranges from academic advice on such topics as study techniques, classroom skills, and tips for exam success, to the best ways to participate in extracurricular activities, maintain healthy relationships outside of law school, and get a job after graduation.
Also available as e-book.
Finally, the truth revealed, Law School 101 is an insightful, and sometimes humorous, guide to help prospective legal scholars anticipate the trials, tribulations, and exaltation of going to law school. Becoming a lawyer is often a frightening, stressful journey, in which every resource you have must be used. Law School 101 teaches you how to avoid common pitfalls, decode myths, and, finally, how to achieve your dream of becoming an amazing lawyer.
Written by students, for students, Law School Confidential has been the "must-have" guide for anyone thinking about, applying to, or attending law school for more than a decade. The book to offers realistic and informative firsthand advice about what law school is really like. The books discusses navigating the admissions process and securing financial aid, choosing classes, studying and exam strategies, and securing a seat on the law review to getting a judicial clerkship and a job, passing the bar exam, and much, much more. It is a complete guide to the law school experience.
This book covers how lawyers use the law, how the legal system works, how to study, how to read and brief case decisions, how to participate in class, how to prepare course outlines, and how to study for exams and write essay exam answers. It also provides a chapter with pointers about legal research and writing because of the importance of these subjects in the first-year curriculum.
A book that every JD and LLM law student needs to read, either before classes start or as they get going in their 1L year. The book explains in a clear and easygoing, conversational manner what law professors expect from their students both in classes and exams.
Explains options for repayment and forgiveness of loans. Includes detailed repayment roadmaps for specific law careers, including big firm attorneys, nonprofit and government lawyers, solo practitioners, independent contractors, and associates at small and mid-size firms.
This brief book is designed to prepare students for their first year of law school, thereby decreasing their anxiety and increasing their chances of achieving academic success. Also appropriate for non-J.D. students, including LLM students from foreign countries and graduate students outside law school. Features: Gives student basic grounding in discrete non-legal topics that are important to the contemporary study of law Includes and#8220;Test Your Understandingand#8221; boxes to allow students to use what they are learning Friendly writing style Images and graphics help students remember material