LibGuides: Services for Law Journal Students: Current Awareness

Law Review & Journals - Tables of Contents

Curent Index to Legal Periodicals

The Current Index to Periodicals is available through HeinOnline.

You can also access a customized program called SmartCILP that provides automatic e-mail notice of specific subjects and/or journals. An authorization code is required to register for SmartCILP (see below)

CILP This link opens in a new window
Provides a weekly, subject-categorized index of the most recent law journal issues.

Law360

Law360 This link opens in a new window
Legal news and current awareness tools for a variety of practice areas. Updated every business day.
Onsite access is the web version (law360.com), accessed via the product switcher in Lexis+ or from this A-Z database. Off-campus, student access is a search form menu located by entering law360 in the search box in Lexis+. If a full-time faculty member is interested in a separate Law360 ID for off-campus access, please email LawLibRef@shu.edu.
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
This resource requires a separate, personal login. Please contact LawLibRef@shu.edu for assistance making an account.

Law.com

Law.com This link opens in a new window
Legal news and current awareness tools for a variety of practice areas. Provides readers with an expansive view into the breaking news, data, and analysis.
New Jersey Law Journal This link opens in a new window
Published since 1878, the New Jersey Law Journal is the indispensable legal authority for New Jersey. It presents a complete, official source for all state and federal court notices. It also provides up-to-the-minute digests of all relevant court decisions, published and unpublished, along with lively journalism. Each issue features "In Practice," articles by contributing experts on legal developments, as well as editorials by an Editorial Board.
New York Law Journal This link opens in a new window
The New York Law Journal provides court information, decisional law, and advance word on new statutes and regulations, coupled with the useful and practical analysis, scholarly insight, and professional perspective. NYJL reports on firms, judicial appointments and upcoming professional requirements.

SSRN

SSRN Legal Scholarship Network This link opens in a new window
Faculty Only. E-mail alert service.
Note: SSRN is free. Only the e-mail alert services requires a login.
SSRN is an open-access online repository of pre-prints papers dedicated to Social Sciences such as Accounting, Economics, Finance, Humanities, Law and more.

Westlaw Alerts

More instructions on setting up the alerts listed below are available at: Create alerts in Westlaw

Lexis+ Alerts

More instructions on setting up the alerts discussed below are available at: https://lexisnexis.custhelp.com/app/answers/answer_view/a_id/1091319/~/creating-alerts-on-lexis-advance

Search Alerts: Get notified when new documents are added that meet your search criteri
Publication Alerts: Get notified when new documents are added to a specific publication. You can create a publication Alert for sources in the following Categories:
- Secondary Materials
- Forms
- Pattern Jury Instructions
- News
- Legal News
- Scientific
Topic Alert: Get notified when new documents are added under a specific topic.
Legislative Alert: Monitor changes to a bill going through the legislative process. You can create these alerts from a full text bill or a bill tracking document. If you create the alert from a bill tracking document, the alert is created on the bill text and does not track changes to the bill tracking document. The alert monitors the bill's progress and alerts you to any of the following status changes you select:
- Introduced
- Amended
- Passed 1st Chamber
- To Executive
- Vetoed/Line Item Vetoed
- Enacted
- Chaptered
Pending Legislation Alert: Monitor for new and pending legislation that may amend, repeal, or enact a change to a specific statute. You can create these alerts from a full text statute document.
State Regulatory Alert: Monitor changes to regulations going through the regulatory process. You can create these alerts from documents found in the State Net Regulatory Text or State Net Regulation Tracking sources. The alert monitors the regulation's progress and alerts you to any of the following status changes you select:
- Proposed
- Partial Adoption
- Adopted Emergency/Temporary
- Adopted/Final