Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Seton Hall Law

Remote Services & Resources - Rodino Center

Remote library resources

IT Remote Instruction and Support

Service Desk IT Support  

Advanced Support

  • Carmelo Lubrano – 973-985-3166
  • Mike McBride – 201-615-1472
  • Brendan Borthwick – 570-909-7970

Research Services

Research Assistance is available Monday-Friday, 9:30 am – 5:30 pm.

Librarians can assist students and faculty remotely or in person with:

  • Research assistance
  • Developing research topics and conducting background research
  • Locating items, database selection, etc.
  • Referrals
  • Copyright assistance
  • Citations and references

Contact for Research Assistance:

  • E-mail: For general inquiries or to set up a more in-depth research appointment, please email lawlibref@shu.edu . Appointments can be remote or in person.
  • Phone: 973-642-8769 

Reminder: we also have Research Guides that highlight our resources for specific subjects.

Course Reserves - Textbooks

For the Fall 2021 term, the Rodino Center will be circulating print textbooks for many, but not all, classes. Print books are available for check-out from the Course Reserves Collection which is located at the Rodino Center Service Desk on the fourth floor. Many of the textbooks are available in digital format. Check the Course Reserves catalog to confirm what is available in digital format. Most Carolina Academic Press and Aspen/Wolters Kluwer titles are available in digital format. 

If the title is available in digital format, it may be limited to one user at a time. If it is on the Ebsco platform, it is recommended that you use the EPUB Full Text link to read online rather than downloading. Downloading will restrict access for others for seven days. Reading the EPUB online makes the book unaccessible to others only while the publication is open. 

Both Wolters Kluwer/Aspen and West Academic/Foundation Press sell print, digital, or print+online textbooks. Purchasing the digital editions from the publishers sometimes provides access to other content such as quizzes and supplementary materials. If purchasing print textbooks, save receipts in case the publishers allow you to convert to digital format mid-semester, if needed. 

If purchasing print textbooks, some publishers will allow free, online access for a limited period of time at the beginning of the term; this may prove helpful until physical textbooks are received. 

  • West Academic usually provides free, 14-day online access with purchase of their textbooks. You can check to see if this is the case for your title of interest: https://www.westacademic.com/. If you purchase directly from West Academic, you can contact them if you don't receive an email that contains instructions for access. If you purchased from Amazon or another vendor, contact West Academic support and provide proof of purchase to see if they will allow you to have electronic, temporary access. 
  • Wolters Kluwer/Aspen posts content for the first chapter or two for some of their textbooks. Students should check the textbook on the Wolters Kluwer website.  
  • If the publication is a Carolina Academic Press or Wolters Kluwer/Aspen title, check Course Reserves or the catalog to see if we have a digital version.

Check the following sites for textbook rentals (which are often less expensive than purchasing):

Please contact lawlibref@shu.edu for questions.

Digital Study Aids

Selected study aids and assigned textbooks are available electronically through:

  1. West Academic Online Study Aids
  2. The catalog
  3. Under the subject "Study Aids" on our A-Z database list.

Print study aids can be borrowed from the Rodino Center Service Desk.

Please contact lawlibref@shu.edu for questions.

Requesting, Borrowing and Returning Rodino Center Materials

Rodino Center Print Materials

Non-reserve print materials from our collection are available to be borrowed by Seton Hall Law students, faculty, administrators and staff.

  • You may pull your own books from the collection, or request that it be pulled for you by submitting a "Request Item".
  • To request an item from the collection, locate the item you wish to borrow in the Rodino Center Catalog.  Under "Check Availability" click "Request Item".  If you have not already signed into OKTA, you will be prompted to sign in using your SHU credentials.  Fill in the form with the relevant information.
  • Items ready for pick up will be available at the entrance to the Rodino Center on the cart labelled "Book Pick Up".
  • You will be notified via email when the books you have requested are available for pickup.  Rodino Center Law Library staff are only able to pull books from the stacks M-F 10:30-3:30, so you might not receive an email notification on the same day the request is placed.
  • If you need assistance locating an item in our catalog or in a database, please email LawLibRef@shu.edu.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

We are currently placing requests for electronic materials, such as articles and book chapters/excerpts. We will attempt to borrow a print book for you, but we may be unable to locate a lending library at this time.

Directions

  • Search for the title of the article or book in the Rodino Center Catalog.  Make sure to select "Libraries Worldwide" under the "Held By  Library" filter.
  • Select the title you would like to borrow.
  • Under "Check Availability" select the "Request Item" button.  If you have not already signed into OKTA, you will be prompted to sign in using your SHU credentials.  Fill in the form with the relevant information.
  • If you are unable to locate a record for the item in the catalog, email your request to lawlibill@shu.edu 
  • We will follow up with you on the status of your request, or you may check the status by logging into the Rodino Center Catalog

Return Materials

Please return borrowed materials to the cart labeled "Book Returns" located at the entrance of the Rodino Center or by the Service Desk.