Study Aids

From the publisher: "Moving beyond the outline format used by most students, this book uses a checklist format to lead students through the questions they need to ask and answer to fully analyze the legal questions they are trying to resolve. It assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams."

Also available in print. Call Number: KF8839 .F745 2022

Popular casebook author and bar review lecturer Richard Freer makes the complex principles of civil procedure accessible for students and practitioners in this treatise. Filled with hundreds of examples, the book integrates legal doctrine with factual analysis. The book breaks the doctrines of civil procedure into easy-to-understand components, and then brings them together to show how they form a comprehensive body of law. As stated by one procedure scholar, this book "is a key reference not only for students, but also for any lawyer or scholar looking for a starting point to their research on procedure and jurisdiction. The latest edition is always on my bookshelf." New to the 5th Edition: The Supreme Court's most recent decision on specific personal jurisdiction, Ford Motor Company, and how it flows from the Court's restriction of general personal jurisdiction Detailed analysis of all recent amendments to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure Emerging law on class actions, including justiciability, ascertainability, cy pres, and issue certification Detailed treatment of remedies, including provisional remedies The Court's 2020 recognition of "defense preclusion" Professors and students will benefit from: "Defining the Issue," a section that opens each chapter, putting material into context and making connections to related areas of procedure and jurisdiction law Analytical frameworks to synthesize key subject areas.

The Nutshell series presents a condensed summary of the law. This Nutshell covers a range of civil procedure topics including jurisdiction and choice of venue, summary judgment, trial, and appeal.

When it's exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel® CrunchTime is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers - you will be prepared for your next big test. Here's why you will need Emanuel® CrunchTime to help you ace your exams: Perfect for the visual learner: The flow charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam. Featured capsule summaries help you quickly review key concepts not just before the exam, but throughout the semester Exams Tips recap the most commonly tested issues and fact patterns.

Multiple Choice Exam: Available through the Rodino Center West Academic Study Aid subscription.

"This book provides a short, clear, efficient review of basic topics in Civil Procedure, organized around the theme of multiple-choice questions. In each chapter, the individual sections explain fundamental principles of a topic-such as stream-of-commerce jurisdiction, joinder under Rule 14, or the requirements for res judicata-and illustrate them with one or two multiple-choice questions. After each question, I explain which answer is right, and why the wrong answers are wrong. These short explanations allow me to discuss the black letter rules in the context of the questions. Hopefully, this format will engage you in the study process, so you'll develop a stronger understanding of the basics of procedure. That will pay dividends at the end of the course, whether your exam includes multiple-choice questions or not"-- Provided by publisher.

From the publisher: "This book unlocks Civil Procedure by explaining doctrine and rules and placing them in context – showing what each doctrine is doing and how each doctrine relates to the others. . . . And throughout, scores of examples allow you to apply the law to fact patterns."

Available through our Aspen Learning Library subscription.

The Acing series reviews the material you learned in class, provides checklists organized in outline form, and contains problems and suggested answers to test your understanding of the material.

Contract Law and Theory, Second Edition conveys a grasp of theory and policy that makes all of the contract rules easier to understand. By explaining and applying contract theory to a wide range of contracts cases, Eric Posner reveals not only the "what" of doctrine but also the "why" -- why one rule rather than another makes sense from a policy perspective. An understanding of what contract theory is and how it is applied will help you to understand not only Contracts, as taught in law school, but also the many areas of law in which contractual ideas operate, such as bankruptcy law, secured transactions, and corporate law. An exciting new Student Treatise from an eminent authority, Contract Law and Theory, Second Edition features: Complete coverage of contracts that includes the principal cases covered in most first-year contracts courses A general explication of the rules of contract that begins with the simplest ideas and gradually builds in complexity A consistent emphasis on the application of theory to doctrine, through analysis of a rich selection of cases A readable and expert treatment of the role of economics in contract law Illustrative examples that point to noteworthy cases Suitability for use alongside any casebook

The Nutshell series presents a condensed summary of the law. This Nutshell covers contract formation, defenses, performance, remedies, the UCC, and many more fundamental contracts topics.

Law school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions. Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application. The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here's why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom: It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application. Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work. Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick.

This Short and Happy Guide has it all! It covers offer and acceptance, promissory liability, performance, remedies, estoppel, and of course the infamous parol evidence rule.

Available through our Aspen Learning Library subscription. The Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.

The Nutshell series presents a condensed summary of the law. From the publisher: "Expert discussion explores punishment, specific crimes, and the ingredients of a crime such as mens rea and actus reus. Other topics covered include special defenses, the burden of proof, and inchoate and group criminality."

Honing students' understanding of concepts and their ability to apply the rules, Laurie L. Levenson presents a comprehensive, thoughtful review of course content that demonstrates how to effectively analyze and answer exam questions. A powerful combination of well-written explanations, multiple-choice questions, analyses, and exam-taking tips, The Glannon Guide to Criminal Law: Learning Criminal Law Through Multiple-Choice Questions and Analysisprepares students to take any type of exam that might be offered in a Criminal Law course. Written by one of the nation's leading Bar lecturers, it also provides an invaluable review of the core concepts tested in Criminal Law on both the multistate and essay sections of the Bar exam. New to the Sixth Edition: Recent case law on insanity, required mental states, duress, self-defense, sexual assaults, attempted manslaughter, and causation Analysis of the Supreme Court's decisions in Elonis v. United States and Kahler v. Kansas Evaluation of recent involuntary manslaughter convictions for encouraging suicide New multiple-choice questions, including questions comparing common law and Model Professors and students will benefit from: Multiple-choice questions, pitched at a level similar to that of many law school exams, that are integral to a thorough review of Criminal Law topics A user-friendly and interactive approach, including text introducing the key cases and concepts that enable a full understanding of subsequent questions and mastery of the material they test Clear analysis of both correct and incorrect answers, which clarifies nuances in the law A challenging final question (the "Closer"), at the end of each chapter, which combines all topics introduced in the chapter in a sophisticated, thought-provoking fact pattern Summary questions in the final chapter ("Closing Closers"), which cut across multiple concepts to test students' knowledge of criminal law and the Model Penal Code, and provide a final review of critical cases and concepts necessary to succeed on the criminal law exam Valuable exam-taking pointers, applicable to every type of question, interspersed within the text Excellent preparation for the Bar exam by one of the nation's leading Bar-exam lecturers in criminal law and procedure

Sum and Substance Quick Review is a short, clear, concise, and substantive outline. It is designed to make the study of law clear and convenient, and it is designed to help students prepare for their law school exams. The main body is an outline of the substantive content that a student needs to prepare for a law school exam. The concise format provides a "Big Picture" overview allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams.

From the publisher: "This book leaves newcomers to criminal law with what they need most: key concepts they can remember! Too many criminal law guides bury the novice in detailed rules when nine times out of ten mastery of the fundamental concepts is the key to success on the exam or in practice. Remembering these concepts is made easier by a “forest before the trees” organization and the use of quirky, often funny examples that stick the concepts to the reader’s memory."

From the publisher: "Understanding Criminal Law is designed to be taught in conjunction with any casebook. The topics covered are those most often raised in criminal law casebooks, and coverage of these subjects is meant to complement professors' classroom discussions. The common law is emphasized with extensive comparisons to the Model Penal Code and modern statutes."

Available through our West Academic Study Aids subscription. From the publisher: "This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve. Other study aids provide sample problems, but none offer the systematic approach to problem solving found in this book."

Available through our Aspen Learning Library subscription.

Available through our Aspen Learning Library subscription. Also available in print Call Number: KF9219.85 .E43 2022 (4th Fl. Reserve)

Available through our Aspen Learning Library subscription. The Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.

Acing Professional Responsibility provides a dual benefit to law students who, to become licensed lawyers, have to pass both a law school exam in a Legal Ethics course as well as the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE). To prepare for the law school examination, there are pages of text, numerous outlines, bullet points, sample essay questions and answers, and mini-checklists to learn the basics and fine points of Professional Responsibility. The Acing book also enables students to quickly recall and pass the MPRE. The materials are current through the Model Rules changes in 2018.

The structure of this Nutshell follows the Model Rules of Professional Responsibility, breaking down each rule so the student can understand the context within the greater framework of ethics laws.

This Short & Happy Guide provides students with the essential concepts and overarching themes that are most frequently tested on the MPRE. The Guide covers the rules of professional responsibility giving students the best introduction they can have as they begin their exam preparation.

Available through our Aspen Learning Library subscription.

The Weekend MPRE book and video course is designed to prepare users for the MPRE in a single weekend, primarily through thoughtful explanations of the most tested aspects of the rules of professional responsibility. This package includes either a softcover print book or an eBook, along with 12-month digital access to 14 videos, two practice exams, quizzes, and A Short & Happy Guide to the MPRE. This package gives you everything you need to prepare for the MPRE and pass the first time! New features: Updated for the New Style MPRE (longer questions) Research-based Method for Decoding Complex Questions Proven Strategy for Eliminating Wrong Answers

This study guide reviews the material you learned in class, provides checklists organized in outline form, and contains problems and suggested answers to test your understanding of the material. Also available in print, call number: KF560 .M43 2012

When it's exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel® CrunchTime is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers - you will be prepared for your next big test. Here's why you will need Emanuel® CrunchTime to help you ace your exams: Perfect for the visual learner: The flow charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam. Featured capsule summaries help you quickly review key concepts not just before the exam, but throughout the semester Exams Tips recap the most commonly tested issues and fact patterns.

The Nutshell series presents a condensed summary of the law. This Nutshell covers interests in land, conveyancing of real property, and miscellaneous real property doctrines such as airspace, water rights, and land use regulation.

This Short & Happy Guide begins with an introduction to the top ten themes of property law. It covers the subject matter most likely to be covered in your class and concludes with exam preparation tips. Also available in print, call number: KF570.Z9 F728 2022

Available through our Aspen Learning Library subscription. Also available in print Call Number: KF560 .B87 2023 (4th Fl. Reserve)

Available through our Aspen Learning Library subscription.

The Acing series reviews the material you learned in class, provides checklists organized in outline form, and contains problems and suggested answers to test your understanding of the material.

A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course. The unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations series is invaluable to teach yourself the subject from the first day of class until your last review before the final. Each guide: helps you learn new material by working through chapters that explain each topic in simple language challenges your understanding with hypotheticals similar to those presented in class provides valuable opportunity to study for the final by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor remains a favorite among law school students is often recommended by professors who encourage the use of study guides works with ALL the major casebooks, suits any class on a given topic provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures

Also available in print (Call Number: KF1250.Z9 H375 2020). The proven Glannon Guide is a user-friendly study aid to use throughout the semester as a great supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Topics are broken down into manageable pieces and are explained in a conversational tone. Chapters are interspersed with hypotheticals like those posed in the classroom that include analysis of answers to ensure thorough understanding. Additionally, The Closer questions pose sophisticated hypotheticals at the end of each chapter to present cumulative review of earlier topics. More like classroom experiences, the Glannon Guide provides you with straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes the material stick. The user-friendly Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. The material is broken into small, manageable pieces to help you master concepts. Multiple-choice questions are interspersed throughout each chapter (not lumped at the end) to mirror the flow of a classroom lecture. Correct and incorrect answers are carefully explained; you learn why they do or do not work. You can rely on authority; the series was created by Joseph W. Glannon Harvard-educated, best-selling author of, among other legal texts, Examples & Explanations; Civil Procedure, now in its sixth edition. The Closer poses a sophisticated problem question at the end of each chapter to test your comprehension. A final Closing Closer provides you practice opportunity as well as a cumulative review of all the concepts from earlier chapters. You can check your understanding each step of the way. More like classroom experiences, these Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes the material stick.

From the publisher: Professor Schechter "balances brevity and humor with a clear, crisp and thorough review of basic torts doctrine. His comprehensive survey includes not only thorough coverage of core topics, such as negligence and strict products liability, but also provides an overview of the economic and dignitary torts, damages issues, and vicarious liability."

A clear, concise, current, and authoritative explanation of all of the most important U.S. tort law doctrines, including those covered in first-year torts courses in law schools. Coverage includes tort law origins and objectives; causation; strict liability; negligence liability and defenses; intentional tort liability and defenses; special liability rules (premises liability, products liability, employers, etc.); damages; tort and contract; immunities; wrongful death and survival; defamation; privacy; misrepresentation.