Study Aids

This treatise analyzes the law of business organizations: corporate law, partnership and LLC law, agency, and selected aspects of securities regulation. In clean, uncomplicated prose, the text offers a clear and thoughtful overview. Business Organizations explains the structure of the law itself, placing it within an historical context, and outlines its economic effect. Integrating basic principles of business and finance in an unintimidating, uncomplicated manner, the text engages readers who have either an elemental or a sophisticated grasp of economics. New to the Third Edition: New cases discussed: Ackerman v. Sobol Family Partnership Zupnick v. Goizueta City of Birmingham Ret. and Relief System v. Good Salman v. United States AmerisourceBergen Corp. v. Lebanon County Employees' Retirement Fund Trinity Wall Street v. Wal-Mark Stores, Inc. Professors and students will benefit from: Tracks two principal texts: William A. Klein, J. Mark Ramseyer, and Stephen M. Bainbridge, Business Associations: Cases and Materials on Agency, Partnerships, and Corporations (10th ed., Foundation Press); and William T. Allen, Reinier Kraakman, and Vikramaditya S. Khanna, Commentaries and Cases on the Law of Business Organization (6th ed., Wolters Kluwer Legal Education) Photos used to engage the reader Incorporates pop culture references such as classic movies and comic books to enliven the text

This book gives students in an introductory course in business associations a succinct but reliable overview of the principle legal issues that arise in business relationships over the life cycle of the business. It explains the basic concepts that govern these relationships and provides specific examples of how they apply. It also explains similarities and dissimilarities in the business associations covered. The book is intended to help students understand the course whether their background is in accounting or music.

When it's exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel® CrunchTime is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers - you will be prepared for your next big test. Here's why you will need Emanuel® CrunchTime to help you ace your exams: Perfect for the visual learner: The flow charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam. Featured capsule summaries help you quickly review key concepts not just before the exam, but throughout the semester Exams Tips recap the most commonly tested issues and fact patterns.

E-Book

Completely revised and updated, conversational in tone, the book summarizes all major forms of business, not simply the corporation. It features numerous examples to illustrate key concepts. Comprehensive yet concise, it addresses the theory of the firm, including the emergence of greater concerns for constituencies other than shareholders, as well as the nuts-and-bolts of corporate law. It offers separate consideration of specialized issues raised in closely-held and public corporations. With updated discussion of recent case law, particularly about controlling shareholders and takeovers, the book offers detailed comparison of Delaware and other leading corporate law legislation. The book also covers relevant federal law, including Sarbanes-Oxley, Rule 10b-5, and Section 16(b). Financial and accounting concepts are explained with helpful examples, so that even sociology majors need not fear them.

The study of business organizations is, broadly speaking, a study of how people engage in business and, more importantly, how the law facilitates and regulates the operation of such businesses. Written in a clear and informative style, and chock full of examples and illustrations, this book examines the legal rules and doctrines associated with running a business--from formation to dissolution to everything in between. These rules and doctrines are explored within the context of the various organizational forms in which a business may be operated. Thus, reading this book will provide you with a solid grounding in the law of agency, general partnerships, corporations, limited partnerships, limited liability partnerships, and limited liability companies.

Understand better what you're learning in Business Organizations, Corporations, or Agency and Partnership class and prepare effectively for exams by applying concepts as you learn them. This study guide includes over 190 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 28 questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam." For each multiple-choice question, Professor Branson provides a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less. For these questions, Professor Branson provides a thoughtful, comprehensive, yet brief model answer.

"Short and Happy"? This book is indeed "short" - much shorter than any other student guide. The reason is that other student guides are written to help you understand your business associations/organizations course, to get you through 42 or 56 class hours. This student guide is different. It is written to help you understand your prof's final exam questions - to get you through a 3 or 4 hour exam. Rather than teaching you how cases and concepts are applied in the real world, this book teaches you how cases and concepts need to be applied in the "unreal" world of law school exams. This is the book to read after you have spent the semester working on law review (Or was it clinic? Or client counseling competitions? Or Kundalini yoga? Or shape note singing?) instead of Business Associations.

Understanding Corporate Law, Fifth Edition, is designed to assist students by offering a clear and comprehensive treatment of key concepts in corporate law. It is a popular study guide for students and has been used by professors to supplement their casebook or as recommended reading. Significant business, economic, and policy issues are highlighted in connection with a thorough analysis of the important cases and statutory provisions used in the study of corporations. It includes the major theoretical approaches used in current corporate law literature. In each chapter, the authors identify important policies and discuss the relationship of the law as it has developed to those policies. Statutory issues are addressed under both the General Corporation Law of the State of Delaware and the Revised Model Business Corporation Act. In addition, significant sections from the Principles of Corporate Governance of the American Law Institute are covered. The corporate scandals of 2001 and 2002, the enactment of the federal Sarbanes-Oxley (2002), Dodd-Frank (2010), JOBs (2012) Acts, and the financial crisis of 2008 are also covered. The rise of institutional shareholder ownership and its effect on legal developments is highlighted.

This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve. It also synthesizes the material in a way that most students are unable to do on their own, and assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but none offers the systematic approach to problem solving found in this book.

This authoritative text provides a framework for understanding individual liberty and governmental power and the institutional role played by the Supreme Court of the United States. Coverage in this new improved edition includes all the major topics of the subject: judicial review: commerce clause and state powers: federalism: separation of powers: congressional and executive powers: and individual civil rights and civil liberties. Includes diagrams that aid understanding of the fundamentals of our system of government. Extremely accessible and comprehensive -- this is a paperback course in American Constitutional Law.

This 10th edition of Constitutional Law in a Nutshell summarizes constitutional law from Marbury v. Madison (1803), to the present. The goal has been to discuss the Supreme Court's cases in enough detail to be helpful but not to be verbose in doing so. In this edition we feature thirty new cases. Some of the highlights include Rucho v. Common Cause (2-10) where the Court held 5-4, per Chief Justice Roberts, that partisan gerrymandering is a non-justiciable issue beyond the competence of the federal judiciary. In Department of Commerce v. New York (2019), although the Court ruled that the Enumeration Clause of the Constitution grants authority to Congress and "by extension" to the Secretary of Commerce to include a question about citizenship on the 2020 Census questionnaire, the Court could not approve it because the rationale presented to the Court was contrived and was based on a pretext. In Timbs v. Indiana (2019), the Court demonstrated that there still is vitality in the incorporation doctrine and held that the Excessive Fines Clause of the Eighth Amendment is an "incorporated" protection applicable to the States under the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. As ever, the free expression area is once again fertile ground for generating Supreme Court case law. In Janus v. American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (2018), the Supreme Court, per Justice Alito, 5-4, reversed the 40 year old Abood v. Detroit Board of Education (1977) precedent and held that its ruling requiring non-union members of a public sector union to pay for the collective bargaining of the union is a violation of the First Amendment. In Matal v.Tam (2017), the Court unanimously held that a Lanham Act provision prohibiting the registration of trademarks that "disparage--or bring--into contempt or disrepute" any persons living or dead is a violation of the First Amendment. In the area of freedom of religion, the Court in Trump v. Hawaii (2018), held, 5-4, per Chief Justice Roberts, that a Proclamation prohibiting or limiting the entry into the United States of nationals from seven countries with Muslim majorities did not violate the Establishment Clause. The Proclamation could reasonably be justified on grounds of national security rather than religious hostility. In American Legion v. American Humanist Association (2019), the Court held, 7-2, per Justice Alito, that the Bladensburg Peace Cross, erected in 1925 on public land in Maryland as a memorial to veterans of World War I did not constitute a violation of the Establishment Clause. Government action which removes monuments that have religious symbolism and that have long been on public land could be seen as "aggressively hostile to religion." Finally, in this edition, as in previous ones, the goal has been to present the essence of the Court's decisions in a concise, readable and understandable way.

Examples & Explanations for Constitutional Law: National Power and Federalism, Ninth edition,by Christopher N. May, Allan Ides, and Simona Grossi, provides a clearly written, comprehensive examination of constitutional doctrine pertaining to national power and federalism. This problem-oriented study guide provides students and teachers with a highly readable and accessible study of constitutional law. Both this book and its companion volume,¿Examples & Explanations for Constitutional Law: Individual Rights, combine detailed textual material with real-world examples and explanations that apply the relevant constitutional doctrine to specific fact patterns. The text operates as a readable and citable treatise on the topics covered, and the examples and explanations serve as an elaboration on that text. Its unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations pedagogy combines textual material with well-written, comprehensive and up-to-date examples, explanations and questions. A favorite among law school students, and often recommended by professors, this guide takes students through the principal doctrines of constitutional law covered in a typical course. New to the Ninth Edition: Inclusion of more than 40 new Supreme Court cases New and updated Examples & Explanations More sophisticated discussion of the federal preemption doctrine Updated treatment of presidential impeachment Expanded discussion of the executive privilege doctrine Deeper coverage of the appointment and removal of federal officials Professors and students will benefit from: Hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis An alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures Straightforward, informal text that is never simplistic, and quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor Adaptability with all major Constitutional Law casebooks Authors with over 70 years of combined experience teaching Constitutional Law

Law school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions. Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application. The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here's why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom: It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application. Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work. Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick. The Glannon Guide to Constitutional Law: Powers and Liberties offers a powerful combination of well-written explanations, multiple-choice questions, and analyses. Brannon P. Denning presents a clear and thoughtful overview of the constitutional doctrines that govern the structure and powers granted in the U.S. Constitution, as well as those that protect individual rights and liberties. Accessible and interactive, the Glannon Guide series pedagogy teaches you to effectively answer exam questions as you review course content. New to the Third Edition: Combined the government structure and powers volume with the rights and liberties volume into one convenient, economical, and easy-to-use aid Updated with recent Supreme Court cases and related questions New flowcharts and tables visually illustrate and clarify complex areas of doctrine New Closing Closers Professors and students will benefit from: Multiple choice questions at varying levels of difficulty, along with detailed explanations of correct and incorrect answers that all students can use to self-test within each chapter Clear, easy-to-understand descriptions of constitutional doctrine, including summaries of all major U.S. Supreme Court cases Two sets of Closing Closers that allow for review following completion of the structure and powers and rights and liberties parts

This study guide includes 192 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 24 questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam." For each multiple-choice question, the authors provide a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less, and includes a thoughtful, comprehensive, yet brief model answer.

This efficient book takes the complex subject matter of Constitutional Law and makes it easier to understand and digest. World-renowned Villanova Law Dean and Professor Mark Alexander carefully explains the key concepts involved in Con Law and also brings it home with straightforward explanations of why you are reading and discussing the cases you are assigned every day. The subject matter runs the gamut from Marbury v. Madison and the structural side of the course to Due Process and Equal Protection. In addition, he provides exam-taking tips, and general words of guidance on how to make it through law school, and beyond, to a rewarding legal career.

Acing Evidence offers a succinct, clear, and user-friendly review of federal evidence law. Providing many helpful examples and employing checklists at the end of every chapter, Acing Evidence presents an organized way to analyze evidence problems and spot hidden issues. This book is invaluable for reviewing evidence, preparing for the bar exam, and assessing evidence at trial. The third edition adds new examples and reflects changes in the Federal Rules of Evidence.

This Second Edition to A Short & Happy Guide to Evidence takes a challenging subject and breaks it into manageable pieces that are easy to understand and digest. It has been completely updated with new and revised graphics and charts and all current rules as of December 2020. Using practical examples and humor, this book takes the reader through the most difficult, and most often tested, rules. After reading this book the reader will finally understand the Hearsay Rule (it's true!). Flowcharts and graphics will assist the reader in a comprehensive understanding of the Federal Rules of Evidence and how they interact with each other.

When it's exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel® CrunchTime is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers - you will be prepared for your next big test. Here's why you will need Emanuel® CrunchTime to help you ace your exams: Perfect for the visual learner: The flow charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam. Featured capsule summaries help you quickly review key concepts not just before the exam, but throughout the semester Exams Tips recap the most commonly tested issues and fact patterns.

The latest version of the Federal Rules is the anchor of this book, with some state variations noted where important. The text summarizes significant U.S. Supreme Court decisions, including the latest Confrontation Clause cases; additional leading cases; forefront expert, scientific, and electronic evidence developments; and principal schools of evidentiary thought. Includes practical implementation as well as scholarly approaches. It pays attention to the litigation process as a whole and includes interdisciplinary cross-pollination where helpful. Numerous signpost-type headings and subheadings light the way, concisely summarizing the gist of each evidentiary concept. The detailed table of contents alone could serve as a complete course outline. Distinctively, an analytical, thoughtful approach is emphasized throughout.

Exam Pro-Objective on Evidence is a study aid that helps law students prepare to take their Evidence exam. Taking the sample objective exams and using the corresponding answers and analysis provides students with a more thorough understanding of Evidence and a better understanding of how to take exams.

The Nutshell, reflecting the Federal Rules of Evidence as restyled and amended up to and including December 1, 2020, contains a crisp, clear, concise, and complete explanation of each Federal Rule of Evidence designed to prepare every student for the course final, the multistate bar examination, and most significantly a successful litigation practice career. The United States Supreme Court's controversial testimonial/nontestimonial interpretation of the Confrontation Clause developed in Crawford and progeny is thoroughly analyzed as well. With respect to the definition of hearsay, the not hearsay definition, the most commonly encountered hearsay exceptions, expert witnesses, and character evidence even more exhaustive treatment is provided. Concrete illustrations are presented throughout.

Questions and Answers: Evidence helps you develop a better, fuller understanding of the law of evidence that will carry you through your evidence class and on into practice. This indispensable supplement, part of our well-known Questions and Answers series, helps you apply concepts as you learn them so that you can prepare more effectively for class and gain a competitive edge on exams. This study guide includes over 455 multiple-choice and short-answer questions, arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 98 "practice exam" questions. This edition includes questions on the latest Federal Rules of Evidence amendments and Supreme Court cases. For each multiple-choice question, there is a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less and includes a thoughtful and comprehensive, yet brief, model answer.