Study Aids

Develop perspective on the conflicts of law arena with Borchers's broad vantage point. Topics covered include issues involving domicile; jurisdiction; adjudication; statute of limitations; foreign law; contract and business cases; torts; "renvoi"; Erie Doctrine; judgments; and family (marriage, dissolution of marriage, property incidents, and custody). Use Conflicts in a Nutshell as an introduction and review tool for students or as a quick refresher and reference tool for lawyers.

This Concise Hornbook guides students through the complex concepts and principles underlying the law of domestic and international conflicts. The book is an indispensable aid to students and practitioners seeking to better understand the basic principles of choice of law, recognition of judgments, and the law applied in federal courts, as well as more specific developments concerning conflicts in family law, cyberspace, and international transactions.

This product presents in checklist format the series of issues that must be understood in order to identify and resolve the range of legal issues presented in an examination question. Checklists are provided for all topics generally covered in the basic criminal procedure course.

This nutshell is intended for use by law students of constitutional criminal procedure. It is a succinct analysis of the constitutional standards of major current significance. This is not a text on criminal procedure, but rather about constitutional criminal procedure. It avoids describing the non-constitutional standards applied in each state and federally. The text provides the scope and highlights you need to excel in understanding this field. This will enable you to answer exam questions more quickly and accurately, and enhance your skills as an attorney.

When it's exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel® CrunchTime is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers - you will be prepared for your next big test. Here's why you will need Emanuel® CrunchTime to help you ace your exams: Perfect for the visual learner: The flow charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam. Featured capsule summaries help you quickly review key concepts not just before the exam, but throughout the semester Exams Tips recap the most commonly tested issues and fact patterns.

Law school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions. Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application. The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here's why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom: It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application. Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work. Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick.

This Short and Happy Guide makes the law about police practices and criminal trial proceedings accessible and easy to remember. Learn the key points of search and seizure law, police interrogation, the right to counsel, the exclusionary rule, pretrial release, grand jury investigations, joinder, criminal discovery, plea bargaining, jury trials, pretrial publicity, double jeopardy, appeals, and post-conviction standards. Dominate your classes in Criminal Procedure and your skills courses in Trial Advocacy!

Few areas of law practice cover as many issues as family law. The subject embraces marriage and divorce, annulment, custody of children, spousal and child support, complex property issues, paternity, domestic violence, adoption, and alternative means of reproduction. Each of these topics itself is complex. For example, within the broad subject of child custody lie the issues of interstate move away cases, international parental child abduction, and the impact of domestic violence on a parent's right to custody or visitation. In addition to purely legal issues, family law has a large psychological component, touching on some of the most important and sensitive aspects of human nature and interaction, such as, what is a family, what are the rights and responsibilities of parents toward children, and how should society respond to child abuse and domestic violence? All of these issues, and more, are discussed in this Nutshell. The book provides a thorough introduction to this challenging field of practice. As you prepare for the bar examination, check to see if family law is tested on the bar you intend to take. The Uniform Bar Exam tests family law. A number of state bar exams include family law. This book covers the family law topics you will encounter on the bar and in a family law course.

A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.

Law school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions. Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application. The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here's why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom: It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application. Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work. Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick.

The fourth edition of the Q&A: Secured Transactions study guide offers more than 300 multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test your knowledge of material covered in most Secured Transactions (UCC Article 9) courses. Each multiple-choice question is accompanied by a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question (designed to be answered in no more than fifteen minutes) is followed by a thoughtful, yet brief, model answer. The questions are arranged by topic, and the study guide includes a "final exam" of over 40 questions. The comprehensive topical index makes it easy for users to test themselves on the various topics, regardless of the casebook being used or the order in which the professor is covering the material.

Hagedorn's Secured Transactions in a Nutshell provides extensive coverage of the 1999 version of UCC Article 9, now enacted by all states. Coverage of the 1972 version of Article 9 and pre-code law is included to provide historical perspective. The text covers: The scope of Article 9 The security agreement and attachment of the security interest Relationship of the debtor and secured party prior to default Perfection of the security interest by filing and other means Multistate choice of law and perfection issues Priority of the secured party and others in and out of bankruptcy Default and enforcement of the security interest

This new Short & Happy Guide to Secured Transactions has been created by Professor Barnes to make important concepts from Article 9 of the Uniform Commercial Code plain and understandable to students. The complex topics are explained in a plain-spoken, straightforward way, to make the concepts as simple and accessible as possible. The important provisions of the Code are excerpted and edited for readability, and all concepts are explained with simple, narrative text, and accompanied by easy-to-understand examples which help students understand the Secured Transactions concepts. Look, we're not going to sugar-coat this - Secured Transactions is difficult. This guide makes it much easier to understand, and get a great grade on your Secured Transactions exam.

The sixth edition of this book updates laws affecting intestate succession, wills, guardianships, and trusts. It introduces wills and trust terminology to the lay audience and summarizes the law included in the Uniform Probate Code, Uniform Trust Code, Uniform Principal and Income Act, Uniform Guardianship and Protective Proceedings Act, Uniform Prudent Investor Act, and the Restatement of Trusts. To illustrate legal issues this book utilizes problems arising from celebrity peccadilloes and well-known deaths, such as those of Abraham Lincoln, Elvis Presley, Michael Jackson, Prince, and the mother/daughter team of Debbie Reynolds and Carrie Fisher. The book can be adopted to supplement a traditional wills and trusts class or as the sole text for a seminar. With clarified language, the book is also accessible to the general public interested in learning more about this complex topic.

A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.

Most students view the Rule against Perpetuities as the most difficult rule in law school. Moreover, the Rule is still covered on MBE for Property and MEE for Wills and Trusts and yet few student-centered resources exist. The Little Book on Perpetuities fills this gap. An ideal subject for self-study, this guide covers all key parts of the Rule, including problems for self-testing. It presents the Rule in its historical context but in a fun, engaging, and accessible way that is simple and clear for students to use. It can be used for Property classes, as well as Wills & Trusts and can supplement a casebook or be used as a separate, self-continued unit. Coverage includes: the common-law Rule and all the famous classics traps; modern statutory reforms, including the new generations-based rule by the Restatement Third of Property; recent efforts by some states to abolish the Rule; and the history and policies of the Rule.

Authoritative coverage provides detailed explanation of the provisions, definitions, and concepts of the UPC and the UTC. UPC topics covered include, e.g., probate jurisdiction of the courts; intestate succession; wills and donative transfers; probate of wills; and administration of estates. UTC topics include, e.g., creation, validity, modification, and termination of trusts; discretionary and revocable trusts; creditor's claims and spendthrift trusts; duties, powers and liability of trustees; and rights of persons dealing with trustees.