European Union Business Law: Preparing the AWR Paper: Research Guides, Dictionaries, and Handbooks

This Very Short Introduction explains the European Union in plain English. Fully updated for 2007 to include controversial and current topics such as the Euro currency, the EU's enlargement, and its role in ongoing world affairs, this accessible guide shows how and why the EU has developedfrom 1950 to the present. Covering a range of topics from the Union's early history and the ongoing interplay between 'eurosceptics' and federalists, to the single market, agriculture, and the environment, the authors examine the successes and failures of the EU, and explain the choices that lieahead in the 21st century.

This Handbook uses a thematic and interdisciplinary approach to discuss and analyse the various governance structures of the EU, focusing in particular on how these are administered.Key chapters, written by leading experts across the field, engage with important ongoing debates in the field of EU administrative law, focusing on areas of topical interest such as financial markets, the growing security state and problematic common asylum procedures. In doing so, they provide a summary of what we know, don't know and ought to know about EU administrative law.Examining the control functions of administrative law and the machinery for accountability, this Research Handbook eloquently challenges areas of authoritarian governance, such as the Eurozone and security state, where control and accountability are weak and tackles the seemingly insoluble question of citizen 'voice' and access to policy making.Practical and engaging, this timely Research Handbook is sure to appeal to scholars and researchers of EU administrative law and EU law more broadly.

Research Handbook on EU Institutional Law offers a critical look into the European Union: its legal foundations, competences and institutions. It provides an analysis of the EU legal system, its application at the national level and the prevalent role of the Court of Justice. Throughout the course of the Handbook the expert contributors discuss whether the European Union is well well-equipped for the 21st century and the numerous crises it has to handle. They revisit the call for an EU reform made in the Laeken Conclusions in 2001 to verify if its objectives have been achieved by the Treaty of Lisbon and in daily practice of the EU institutions. The book also delves into the concept of a Europe of different speeds, which - according to some - is inevitable in the EU comprising 28 Member States.

International and Foreign Legal Research: A Coursebook, second edition by Hoffman and Rumsey, now in a second edition, is designed for classes in foreign and international legal research. Topics covered in the book range from treaty research to chapters on particular subjects of international law. Coverage also includes chapters on researching foreign and comparative law as well as major international organizations, including the UN and the EU.

Written specifically for exporters and those without legal training, this book is an introduction to the business laws of the European Union that need to be understood by those operating outside the EU. It is a practical guide to the regulatory and procedural issues that exporters and businesses need to be aware of. While providing an overview of how the EU operates as a governing body, the book addresses the key matters that exporters will face during their business transactions. Topics covered include: * Direct export transactions to the EU * Exporting via an agent or distributor * Customs laws and procedures * Resolving international business disputes * How to establish a permanent business presence within the EU The book uses case studies to illustrate how these transaction types can be applied to real world business dealings. It is an essential resource for anyone involved in international business with customers in the European Union.

To the outsider, the law of the European Union (EU) can appear confusing and opaque. However, the legal system of the EU is similar to a certain extent to that of the United States. Despite the similarities, there are significant differences, too. This comprehensive resource will help lawyers understand, in depth, European Union business law. Unique in scope and depth, this guide includes references to all of the important decisions of the European courts. It is sufficiently comprehensive and analytical to serve as a useful research tool for those seeking to understand a particular area of the rapidly expanding world of EU business law. In one convenient volume, this book begins with a discussion of the institutional aspects of the EU which is essential in order to fully understand the more detailed discussion of the various business law issues throughout the book. This valuable resource includes the history of the EU, the legal foundations, and the legislative process of the EU as codified in the various EU treaties; discussion of the relationship between EU law and national law as well as the framework and operation of the monetary union; numerous aspects of EU business law including internal trade, competition, external trade, insolvency, sales agent, intellectual property, and e-commerce; current legislation relevant to EU business law; comprehensive references to all the leading EU cases interpreting and applying EU business law; and a keyword index which allows the reader to quickly identify discussions of legal issues which might be contained in different chapters.

E-book
Describes legal research in civil law jurisdictions and highlights key sources of EU law.

rovides in-depth, authoritative discussions of the key concepts, developments, institutions, policies, negotiations, treaties, national interests, personalities, etc., related to European integration. The more than seven hundred easily accessible entries, written by internationally recognized scholars, cover virtually every aspect of the European Union. Maps, glossaries, appendixes, and a comprehensive index further enhance the volume. First published in 1998, the Encyclopedia's chronology, tables, and appendixes have been updated through 1999 to reflect recent events, including the constitution of the new Commission and the organization of the newly elected European Parliament

Fourth Fl. Reserve
This reference explains the meaning of more than 3,000 acronyms, abbreviations and sobriquets used across the European Union to identify European projects, schemes, and agencies (often used to avoid the problem of translation): many have crept into everyday use over recent years and have become almost a language in themselves.

In Europe, direct taxation is still within the competence of the Member States. However, European law has become increasingly influential in this area as well. Most provisions of European law are directly applicable. They thus have an immediate impact on taxpayers and tax authorities when applying domestic tax law. This book serves as an introduction to European direct taxation. The book will be of assistance to experts in European law who have so far considered tax law (and in particular direct taxation) as too technical a domain. It will also be helpful to tax law experts who are less familiar with the problems of compatibility with European law. Because the contributors do not focus on a specific national tax system, Introduction to European Tax Law: Direct Taxation will be beneficial to students and practitioners inside and outside of Europe.