LibGuides: Law School Success: Study Group Resources

Archived Exams

Seton Hall Law Archived Exams This link opens in a new window
The Seton Hall Law Exam Archive includes exams that have been authorized for release to current SHU law students. Please note that the examinations contained in this archive are historical and are representative of the time period in which they were prepared. Thus, an archived exam may not reflect current law and should be used accordingly.

Study Aids

Aspen Learning Library This link opens in a new window
Aspen Learning Library consists of digital study aids with full text search, note-taking, and highlighting capabilities, audio recordings, and video format learning experiences to enhance student understanding of difficult legal concepts. Series included: Examples & Explanations, Glannon Guides, Emanuel CrunchTime, and more.

Access is provided to all Seton Hall Law students, Staff, and Faculty. An account is recommended, but not required. Please visit: https://shlawlibrary.libguides.com/ebookFAQ/Aspen. Should you need more assistance, please email LawLibRef@shu.edu.
West Academic This link opens in a new window
Electronic Study Aid Library. This library provides a wide range of study aids including audio lectures, Exam Pro multiple choice practice questions, and the Acing series.
Access full text e-books of popular study aids for many of your courses!
CALI This link opens in a new window
Interactive tutorials that cover narrow topics of law, with immediate assessment and feedback. Includes first-year and upper-level courses.
Over 1k computer-based, interactive tutorials that cover narrow topics of law. Includes first-year and upper-level courses. First-time users must obtain an authorization code in order to create an account. Please contact lawlibref@shu.edu to obtain a code.

Examples and Explanations eBook Series

Study Aid Recommendations - Spring

Acing Contracts 2nd ed. (West Academic Study Aids) by Suzanne Darrow-Kleinhaus
ISBN: 9781685612672
Publication Date: 2022-05-02
The Acing series reviews the material you learned in class, provides checklists organized in outline form, and contains problems and suggested answers to test your understanding of the material.
Examples & Explanations for Contracts, 8th ed. by Brian A. Blum
ISBN: 9781543819939
Publication Date: 2021-03-01
Available through our Aspen Learning Library subscription. Also available in print Call Number: KF801 .B58 2021 (4th Floor Reserve)

The Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.
Concepts and Case Analysis in the Law of Contracts, 7th ed. (West Academic Study Aids) by Marvin A. Chirelstein
In this publication of the Concepts and Insights series, you will gain a fuller understanding of the principles behind the cases you read in class. This can give you the edge you need to excel on your exams.
Principles of Contract Law 5th ed. (Concise Hornbook) (West Academic Study Aid) by Robert A. Hillman
Contract law is more complex and subtle than you may read in your "black letter" study aids. Written in an informal style, this concise hornbook introduces you to subtleties and competing theories that affect every aspect of the law.
Sum and Substance Audio on Contracts 1st ed. (West Academic Study Aids) by Robert D. Brain
This is a digitized version of a 14-CD audio lecture set by Professor Robert Brian. The lectures complement Professor Brian's Sum & Substance: Quick Review of Contracts study guide.
Law School Legends Audio on Contracts 5th ed. (West Academic Study Aids) by David G. Epstein
From the publisher: "Professor David Epstein explains the important contract law concepts, the relationship among those concepts, and how a student can use the concepts to answer any question a professor might ask in class or on the exam."

Electronic Access Available through the Rodino Center

Acing Civil Procedure 6th ed. (West Academic Study Aids) by A. Benjamin Spencer
ISBN: 9798887861289
Publication Date: 2024
From the publisher: "Moving beyond the outline format used by most students, this book uses a checklist format to lead students through the questions they need to ask and answer to fully analyze the legal questions they are trying to resolve. It assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams."
Examples & Explanations for Civil Procedure 9th ed. by Joseph W. Glannon
ISBN: 9781543839340
The Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Also available in print. Call Number: KF8840 .G58 2018 (4th Floor Reserve)
Exam Pro on Civil Procedure: Objective by Linda S. Mullenix
ISBN: 9781634606837
Publication Date: 2016-09-16
Multiple Choice Exam: Available through the Rodino Center West Academic Study Aid subscription.
Inside Civil Procedure: What Matters and Why 3rd ed. by Howard M. Erichson
Call Number: KF8841 .E75 2018 (4th Floor Reserve)
This study guide is complete from subject matter jurisdiction through trial to appeal and preclusion. It helps demystify civil procedure by explaining the abstract concepts in clear terms.
Sum and Substance Audio on Civil Procedure 8th ed. (West Academic Study Aids) by Arthur R. Miller
Published 2016. These audio lectures cover a wide variety of civil procedure topics in depth. These include jurisdiction, pleadings, joinder, claims, motions, trial motions, and post-trial motions.
Law School Legends Audio on Civil Procedure 4th ed. (West Academic Study Aids) by Richard D. Freer
Published 2016. These audio lectures cover the constitutional standards for due process; jurisdiction and venue; and the entire trial process from pleadings to post-trial motions. From the publisher: "The lecture references all the newly restyled Federal Rules of Civil Procedure."

CALI - Civ Pro Lessons
New to CALI? First-time users must obtain an authorization code in order to create an account. Pleas contact lawlibref@shu.edu to obtain a code.

Electronic Access Available through the Rodino Center

Acing Criminal Law (West Academic Study Aids) by John M. Burkoff
Available through our West Academic Study Aids subscription. From the publisher: "This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve. Other study aids provide sample problems, but none offer the systematic approach to problem solving found in this book."
Examples & Explanations for Criminal Law, 9th ed. by Shima Baradaran Baughman
ISBN: 9798889068082
Publication Date: 2024
Available through our Aspen Learning Library subscription. The Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.
The Glannon Guide to Criminal Law by Laurie L. Levenson
ISBN: 9798889068792
Publication Date: 2024
Criminal Law by Wayne R. LaFave and Jens David Ohlin
Publication Date: 2023
Criminal Law in a Nutshell 7th ed. (West Academic Study Aids) by Arnold H. Loewy and Joseph E. Kennedy
ISBN: 9798892094399
Publication Date: 2024-03-26
The Nutshell series presents a condensed summary of the law. From the publisher: "Expert discussion explores punishment, specific crimes, and the ingredients of a crime such as mens rea and actus reus. Other topics covered include special defenses, the burden of proof, and inchoate and group criminality."
Principles of Criminal Law 3rd ed. (West Academic Study Aids) by Wayne R. LaFave
From the publisher: "LaFave's Principles of Criminal Law provides detailed discussion on the topics of responsibility, justification and excuse, inchoate crimes and accomplice liability. The book also gives attention to subjects such as causation, insanity and conspiracy."
Sum and Substance Audio on Criminal Law
Publication Date: 2021
Law School Legends Audio on Criminal Law 1st ed. (West Academic Study Aids) by John M. Burkoff
From the publisher: "This four-hour audio lecture on criminal law is useful for students who are about to take or are currently taking a course in Criminal Law and who want to use it for class review or exam preparation."

CALI - Crim Law Lessons
New to CALI? First-time users must obtain an authorization code in order to create an account. Pleas contact lawlibref@shu.edu to obtain a code.

Electronic Access Available through the Rodino Center

Acing Professional Responsibility 5th ed. (West Academic Study Aids) by Leslie W. Abramson
ISBN: 9798887862965
Publication Date: 2024-01-11
Acing Professional Responsibility provides a dual benefit to law students who, to become licensed lawyers, have to pass both a law school exam in a Legal Ethics course as well as the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE). To prepare for the law school examination, there are pages of text, numerous outlines, bullet points, sample essay questions and answers, and mini-checklists to learn the basics and fine points of Professional Responsibility. The Acing book also enables students to quickly recall and pass the MPRE. The materials are current through the Model Rules changes in 2018.
Examples & Explanations for Professional Responsibility 7th ed. by W. Bradley Wendel
ISBN: 9781543846188
Publication Date: 2024
This Examples and Explanations volume focuses on the attorney-client relationship, the problem of client fraud, conflicts of interest, regulation of lawyers, and judicial conduct.
Legal Ethics in a Nutshell 5th ed. (West Academic Study Aids) by Ronald D. Rotunda
The structure of this Nutshell follows the Model Rules of Professional Responsibility, breaking down each rule so the student can understand the context within the greater framework of ethics laws.
Legal Ethics, Professional Responsibility, and the Legal Profession
ISBN: 9781640208315
Publication Date: 2018
Sum and Substance Audio on Professional Responsibility 2nd ed. (West Academic Study Aids) by John S. Dzienkowski
The Sum and Substance audio lectures cover many topics, such as regulation of lawyers, the unauthorized practice of law, ethical client representation, and duties of attorneys to the court.
Law School Legends Audio on Professional Responsibility 11th ed. (West Academic Study Aids) by Erwin Chemerinsky
The Professional Responsibility audio lecture explains regulation of attorneys, bar admission, unauthorized practice, and many more important issues.

Electronic Access Available through the Rodino Center

Acing Property 3rd ed. (West Academic Study Aids) by Colleen E. Medill
ISBN: 9781685610968
This study guide reviews the material you learned in class, provides checklists organized in outline form, and contains problems and suggested answers to test your understanding of the material. Also available in print, call number: KF560 .M43 2012
Examples & Explanations for Property 7th ed. by Barlow D. Burke and Joseph A. Snoe
Call Number: KF560 .B87 2023 (Fourth Fl. Reserve)
ISBN: 9781543857610
Publication Date: 2023
Also available as eBook. In an easy to understand format, each example introduces a fact pattern and poses legal questions. The reader is encouraged to work out their own answer, then read the explanation provided by the author.
A Short & Happy Guide to Property 3rd ed. (West Academic Study Aids) by Paula A. Franzese
ISBN: 9781684673643
This Short & Happy Guide begins with an introduction to the top ten themes of property law. It covers the subject matter most likely to be covered in your class and concludes with exam preparation tips. Also available in print, call number: KF570.Z9 F728 2022
Law School Legends Audio on Real Property 3rd ed. (West Academic Study Aids) by Paula Ann Franzese
Paula Franzese of Seton Hall Law wrote and narrated these audio lectures, which cover material similar to the "Short and Happy" study aid. Full-text, searchable transcripts are available. You can click straight from a keyword search into an audio track with your keyword.
The Law of Property 2nd ed. (West Academic Study Aids) by Christopher Serkin
This hornbook dives into the doctrine and theory of property law for students who want to understand the deeper historical (as well as modern) issues at play.
Principles of Property Law 7th ed. (West Academic Study Aids) by Herbert Hovenkamp, Sheldon F. Kurtz, & Thomas P. Gallanis
An abridged version of The Law of Property, An Introductory Survey (6th ed. 2014). Each chapter in this hornbook contains multiple example problems with suggested answers and analysis.
Sum and Substance Audio on Property 3rd ed. (West Academic Study Aids) by Julian Conrad Juergensmeyer and Carol Necole Brown
ISBN: 9780314267252
These audio lectures by the authors of Sum and Substance Quick Review on Property are mainly focused on real property law. Transcripts of the audio are full-text searchable. You can click straight from a keyword search into an audio track with your keyword.

Getting to Maybe: How to Excel on Law School Exams by Richard Michael Fischl, Jeremy Paul
Call Number: KF283 .F47 1999 (Fourth Fl. Reserve)
ISBN: 0890897603
Publication Date: 1999-05-01
Law school exams involve complicated legal reasoning. This book breaks down the exam process into discrete analytical components and helps you address complexity by developing relevant study habits and skills.
Expert Learning for Law Students by Michael Hunter Schwartz; Paula J. Manning
Call Number: KF283 .S354 2017 (Fourth Fl. Reserve)
ISBN: 9781611639650
Publication Date: 2018-09-01
Also available as e-book. The text includes exercises and step-by-step guides to engage readers in the process of becoming expert learners, including specific strategies for succeeding in law school.

Civil Procedure

Sections A & C: Prof Glynn

Examples & Explanations for Civil Procedure (2018)
Inside Civil Procedure: What Matters and Why, by Howard Erichson (2017)

Section B: Prof. McLaughlin

Examples & Explanations for Civil Procedure (2018)

Section D: Hartnett

Examples & Explanations for Civil Procedure (2018)
Inside Civil Procedure: What Matters and Why, by Howard Erichson (2017)

Weekend: Vazquez

Does not recommend the use of any single study aid over another.

Contracts

Weekend: Romberg

Criminal Law

Sections A, B, C & D: Prof. Cornwell

Glannon Guide to Criminal Law, by Laurie Levenson (2018)

Property

Section A: Carmella

A Short and Happy Guide to Property (2012)

Section B: Franzese

A Short and Happy Guide to Property (2012)

Section C: Bernstein

Estates in Land and Future Interests, by Linda Edwards (2017)

Section D: Payne

A Short and Happy Guide to Property (2012)
Understanding Property Law, by Sprankling

Advice from the Experts

In addition to looking at study aids, creating your outline, and reviewing past exams there are some articles and podcasts about exam-preparation that provide useful tips.

How Not to Write Answers to Law School Exams
via Hein. 29 Stetson L. Rev. 1181 (2000).
Thirteen Rules for Taking Law Exams
Via Hein. 72 Tenn. L. Rev. 797 (2005).
When You Come to a Fork in the Road, Take it and Other Sage Advice For First-Time Law School Exam takers
Via Hein. 26 Ga. St. U. L. Rev. 653 (2006).
Podcast from Bob Berring, Prof. Emeritus at Berkely Law
Exam Taking Tips