Skip to main content
Seton Hall Law

Library Policies & Rules

Seton Hall Law Rodino Library Polices

General Access Policies

Seton Hall Law School is a private Law School, and the Law Library is not open to the public.  Only current Seton Hall Law students, faculty, staff, and recent Seton Hall Law graduates studying for the bar may use the Law Library when the Circulation Desk is closed.  

Permission to use the Law Library may be granted to the following categories of patrons during Circulation Hours.  Permission to use will not be granted during the Restricted Access Period, prior to examinations each semester.  Patrons must be able to present an acceptable form of photo ID, proof of status, and the credentials indicated below at the Security Desk upon arrival at Seton Hall Law.

Seton Hall Community

  • Seton Hall Law Alumni (proof of alumni status)
  • Seton Hall University students, employees, and alumni (Seton Hall ID or alumni card)

Law Students & Recent Law Graduates

  • Current Rutgers Law School students (Rutgers Law ID)
  • Students of other law schools (Letter of Introduction from their law school library in advance of visit) 
  • Students or recent law school graduate locally employed (Letter of Introduction from judge, law librarian, or supervising attorney in advance of visit)

Bar Study

  • Persons taking a bar review course given at Seton Hall Law School during the time of requested access (bar review course ID)
  • Recent graduates of other law schools who are studying for the bar and NOT taking a bar review course at Seton Hall Law (Letter of Introduction from their law school library in advance of visit) 

Attorneys & Librarians

  • Attorneys who are members of their state bar association (proof of bar membership)
  • New Jersey Law Librarians who are members of the New Jersey Law Librarians Association (verification in NJLLA Membership Directory)


Additional exceptions may be granted at the discretion of the Head of Public Services or the Law Library Director.

Any questions regarding acceptable forms of identification and/or proof of status should be directed to the Seton Hall Law School Security Desk, at 973-642-8725.

Special Collection Access

Rare Book Collection:  Persons in the above categories who require on-site use of specific items from the Rare Book Collection must contact the Law Library 973-642-8766 at least 72 hours in advance to schedule an appointment.

Government Documents: Persons requiring use of United States and/or New Jersey Government Documents may follow the instructions on our Government Documents page.

Rodino Collection:  Persons requiring on-site use of the Rodino Archives must telephone 973-642-8195 at least 72 hours in advance to schedule an appointment. For more information about the Rodino Archives on-site use, please refer to our Rodino Archives Access Policy.

Bar Exam Study

The Law Library is open to Seton Hall Law graduates studying for bar exams. Graduates of other law schools may also wish to access our library facility for this purpose.

  • If you are enrolled in a bar review course hosted at Seton Hall Law, you may have access to the Law Library.  
  • If you are a recent graduates of another law school, but are not attending a bar review course at Seton Hall Law you may request an exam study pass.  The number of passes issued for each bar exam is limited, and are available on a first-come, first served basis.   To request an exam study pass, you must email in advance a Letter of Introduction from your law library to a the Head of Public Services, Brittany Persson

Access for non-Seton Hall Law graduates will be limited to the use of print books, photocopying, and only certain online databases during the hours that circulation services are provided.  We have one patron access terminal were we provide Westlaw access to our outside patrons and alumni.  Access to this terminal depends on demand, and when demand is high is limited to one hour use at a time.   

Bar exam study for non-Seton Hall Law graduates is a courtesy. This access is conditional: visitors must comply with all Law Library rules and policies. Anyone who violates any rule or policy will lose his or her right to use the Law Library.

Legal Reference and Legal Advice

Reference librarians help you use the library and its collections.  They do not do research for you. Reference librarians locate information; identify relevant resources; develop search strategies for catalogs, databases, indexes, and the internet; and provide legal research training.

Reference librarians do not provide patrons with legal advice, make decisions regarding legal rights and liabilities, interpret legal materials, or explain how the law applies to a particular case.  Because of the complicated nature of many legal problems, the services of a qualified attorney may be required.  If you need assistance that the Law Library cannot provide, please refer to the resources that we have compiled on our NJ Legal Services page. 

Letters of Introduction

To be granted visiting privileges to the Law Library, please provide the Head of Public Services, Brittany Persson with a Letter of Introduction on letterhead from your law school library.  

If granted, your access will be limited to the use of print books, photocopying, and only certain online databases during the hours that circulation services are provided.  We have one patron access terminal were we provide Westlaw access to our outside patrons and alumni.  Access to this terminal depends on demand, and when demand is high is limited to one hour use at a time.   

The letter of introduction should 

  1. Verify enrollment in the law program at the university or recent graduation status
  2. Indicate the purpose of your visit
  3. Indicate a specific range of dates that you would like to use the Law Library.