LibGuides: Rodino Center Policies and Rules: Alumni Services and Resources

Rodino Center Alumni Access

Alumni of Seton Hall University School of Law are invited and encouraged to use the Rodino Center Library. The Rodino Center is open to Alumni when the Service Desk is open. For a full listing of Rodino Center library hours, please consult our Hours & Information.

Upon visiting Seton Hall University School of Law, you will be asked to show proper identification before being admitted to the Rodino Center.

Alumni Services

Service Desk

Service Desk staff and student staff are available to answer questions and help you locate books and other materials in the Rodino Center. Come to the Service Desk to check out and return books and other materials. Please see below for more information.

For information on service desk hours, please consult our Hours & Information page.

Circulation

Circulation of Rodino Center library material is limited to alumni of Seton Hall who present a valid ID and are entered into our Catalog. Items can only be used in the library and should not be removed from the building. Please view our Circulation Policy for more information.

Reference

Reference librarians primarily serve Seton Hall Law's students, faculty, and staff but are also available to assist Law School Alumni as time permits.

In-person Reference services will be limited to virtual services until further notice. For Reference assistance, please contact us lawlibref@shu.edu. The Reference Team will set up virtual meetings, as needed. The Reference Team will respond to any requests during the next reference shift.

Alumni Computer Access

Computers for alumni and visiting attorney are not provided by the Rodino Center. Guests should bring a laptop to the Rodino Center to access available databases. A guest username and password for WIFI will be provided for your use at the Service Desk.

Alumni Scanning & Printing

Printers and copiers are NOT provided for alumni and visiting attorneys.

Capture images of desired pages from Rodino Center library print materials

Take a picture of the desired pages with your phone. Use an app to convert to PDF. Below are a few recommended apps.
- OneDrive App
- Microsoft Lens
- iPhone Files App (hold down on photo --> select convert to PDF)
- Android phones Photos App (Edit photo --> Print option --> Print to PDF)
- AdobeScan: Mobile PDF Scanner
Attach your laptop to the Fujitsu SV600 scanner located in the Rodino Center and save scan of desired pages. Before scanning, download the appropriate software to your computer.

Capture desired pages of materials retrieved from Rodino Center electronic resources.

Print to PDF or save files on your personal laptop.

Notice: The copyright law of the United States (Title 17 U.S. Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. The person using this equipment is liable for any infringement.

Alumni Collection & Database Access

Search the Library Catalog

The databases listed below are available for use within the Rodino Center Library. Some may prompt you for a login. If you need one, please stop by the Service Desk to obtain the daily username and password for access.

American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912 - 1990 This link opens in a new window
The collection of papers spans the majority of the twentieth century, from 1912 to 1990. Scholars and students in twentieth-century American social history and politics will find this archive of special interest because of its focus on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court.
AILALink This link opens in a new window
This database is the go-to resource for immigration law research, providing subscribers with access to immigration-related statutes, regulations, and important case law; agency correspondence and manuals; AILA/government liaison minutes; immigration forms; and a plethora of AILA publications.
Competition Policy International (CPI) This link opens in a new window
Competition Policy International (CPI) is an independent knowledge-sharing organization focused on the diffusion of the most relevant antitrust information and content worldwide. CPI releases daily, weekly, and monthly antitrust-focused publications.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subjects.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
A premier online database containing more than 155 million pages and 200,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format.
Investment arbitration reporter This link opens in a new window
Investment Arbitration Reporter is a news and analysis service focusing on the international law that applies to foreign investment, particularly the international investment treaties and arbitration claims that arise in this context.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly articles from many disciplines and subject areas. Much of its content is available in full-text.
Lexis Nexis Digital Library (OverDrive) This link opens in a new window
Database of books includes: Collection of study aids (QnAs, Understanding), American Health Lawyers Association practice guides and handbooks, Carolina Academic Press books, various New Jersey and New York practice guides, and other general audience books. Seton Hall Law alumni and guest attorneys may register for remote access by emailing lawlibref@shu.edu.
LexisNexis University (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Also find legal information, specifics about a company, and news from around the world!
Please contact the Reference desk for assistance making an account.
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926 This link opens in a new window
Downloadable full-text of over 21,000 legal treatises, covering all areas of English and American law.
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Downloadable full-text of historical U.S. legal documents from the colonial period to the twentieth century, organized by subject.
Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926 This link opens in a new window
Fully-searchable digital collection includes unofficially published accounts of trials; official trial documents, briefs, and arguments; and official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings, and arbitration sessions.
Making of Modern Law Supreme Court Records and Briefs: 1832-1978 This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of legal documents from the U.S. Supreme Court, covering approximately 150,000 cases.
New Jersey Law Journal This link opens in a new window
Published since 1878, the New Jersey Law Journal is the indispensable legal authority for New Jersey. It presents a complete, official source for all state and federal court notices. It also provides up-to-the-minute digests of all relevant court decisions, published and unpublished, along with lively journalism. Each issue features "In Practice," articles by contributing experts on legal developments, as well as editorials by an Editorial Board.
New York Law Journal This link opens in a new window
The New York Law Journal provides court information, decisional law, and advance word on new statutes and regulations, coupled with the useful and practical analysis, scholarly insight, and professional perspective. NYJL reports on firms, judicial appointments and upcoming professional requirements.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
A vast and rapidly-expanding online library, providing easy access to thousands of books across the world-renowned scholarly list of Oxford University Press (OUP). Spanning subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law
ProQuest Congressional Research Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of U.S. federal government publications.
ProQuest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Legislative Insight is a Federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Tax Notes This link opens in a new window
Provides analysis and guidance from the world's leading tax authorities, covers a comprehensive range of tax topics, and offers tax planning and compliance insights and strategies. For the initial sign-in, you need to be within the university’s IP range (on campus). After your initial log-in, you’ll be able to sign in anywhere, and from any device.
West Academic This link opens in a new window
Study Aids Subscription

Access is provided to all Seton Hall Law students, Staff, and Faculty. An account is recommended, but not required. Please visit: https://shlawlibrary.libguides.com/ebookFAQ/West. Should you need more assistance, please email LawLibRef@shu.edu.
Access full text e-books of popular study aids for many of your courses!
Westlaw Patron Access This link opens in a new window
Access available on a first come first served basis in the Rodino Center at the Patron Terminal. Stop by the Service Desk for assistance.
Access primary law, KeyCite, American Law Reports, Corus Juris Secundum, Am Jur, and a selection of Federal and NJ treatises.
Wiley-Blackwell Full Collection This link opens in a new window
Hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals, over 20,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.